Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Connecting Toshiba Tivo's to Cox Digital Cable?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Connecting Toshiba Tivo's to Cox Digital Cable?

I am a newbie and this is my first post, so please forgive me if this question has already been asked or is common knowledge amongst Tivo owners. I bought two second hand Toshiba Tivo units for myself early this year (SD400 and RS-TX20). They both have the lifetime membership dealio, and let's just say I can't see how I ever lived without them. They are AWESOME

Here is my question now, I have COX Basic Cable, it has like like 70 channels. I remember when initially setting up my Tivo it asking me to select what kind of cable I was using, I had to select channels and do some other stuff. Now COX is offering a special, convert to digital cable and get the hundreds of channels, free HBO, etc. But they make you rent their boxes. I don't want their stinking boxes, you have to pay extra for them and I really like using my Tivo remotes. I have heard that the Tivo units I own aren't HD tuners, and to be honest, I don't really care. I just want the channels. My question is, if I don't rent the COX box will I still be able to access the hundreds of channels that the digital cable subscription offers using my Tivo units alone? Thank you in advance for any/all input!

I just wanted to add this blurb from the COX website. I mean, I pay like $115 now for basic cable, internet & phone. I just want to know if this would be a better deal for me. If I had to pay an extra $10-$20 it would be worth it for HBO & 100+ channels. Verizon FiOs is not available yet, and I may look into that too when it does become available, whatever the best deal is... thx

"Rhode Island