X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Can a TIVO SERIES 3 do this?

Situation

I own a Pioneer PDP5060HD Plasma.

I have a DISH NETWORK subscription and use a DISH 622 HD DVR. A recent court ruling has caused DISH NETWORK to stop sending me their HD Distant Networks.

Even though the DISH 622 DVR can pickup and record OTA signals I still find myself in a pickle. I cannot setup an OTA antenna to pickup my local HD stations because the sub-division in which I reside has a covenant that does not allow such antennas. I could possibly fight the local homeowners association over this but it would not be a good way to endear myself.

Therefore, I got a basic subscription to my local cable company in order to receive network programming.

I have discovered that if I hookup my basic cable 75 ohm wire to the Antenna A input on my Pioneer Plasma and do a Channel Auto-Scan I am able to pickup quite a few High Definition Channels including a few of the HD local Networks (ABC, CBS, and FOX). This has been verified by several of my friends who also only have the basic cable (no decoder box) and other brands of HD capable televisions.

I have tried connecting my basic cable wire to the Antenna Input of my DISH 622 DVR but the DISH 622 DVR is unable to decode the above mentioned HD channels. In fact, the DISH 622 DVR cannot decode any of the cable systems channels. It can only decode OTA digital signals.

Thus my question and inquiry about the TIVO SERIES 3 HD

I am sure that if I get a DECODER BOX from my local Cable Company and pay additional fees to the local Cable Company, the TIVO SERIES 3 will be able to receive and record such programming.

I like to save a $$$ or two where I can, therefore, I would like to know if any of you that own the SERIES 3 TIVO and also have a basic cable subscription (not using a cable decoder box) have been able to receive similar HD Cable Channels and record them?