Command Syntax confusion

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Command Syntax confusion

I have been researching as much as possible before I commit to the upgrade of a single DT240040 to a single 120GB HD. Most user problems that I have read about often involve misreading the command syntax or entering it incorrectly. I do not feel like making the same mistakes.

I wish that those who post command instructions would make it a point to specify that a "1" is a "numeric one" and not a capital letter "EYE". Also, space or no space makes a BIG difference.

Why can't deliniators be specified so that there is no mistaking? Many, many years ago when I was a Cobol programmer before on-line entry a - "space" (or blank) was specifically coded "Spaces" so keypunchers didn't have to guess. It's no fun debugging a huge Cobol program to find out that it was a keypunch error and not a coding error.

Having no Linux command information or experience, I am concerned that "1so" (in the weaknees documentation)is not intended to be "Iso".????

If I understood what "1so" meant then I would be asking this dumb question. But from what I have read on various forums - many are only looking for a reliable set of step by step instructions that doesn't require an understanding of Linux commands.

The weaknees documentation also notes that the System FAT PC drive would be referenced as hdW, (almost always 'hda'). Then I see a command with "hdW1" i.e. [mount /dev/hdW1 /mnt].

So I take it, that differentiates the first hda from the second hda or two primary master drives?

Guess I have to keep reading............
    Last edited by CJL1106; 02-02-2007, 07:23 AM. Reason: typo

Eye, One or ELL ??

Just done more researching found information about Bash Linux. Is the Command that looks like "1so" actually an "ELL" (not Eye=I or One=1). L - yea, "L" that's for LIST and would make sense. My guess is as good as anybodies.