Replacing dual drives (Series1)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Replacing dual drives (Series1)

I have an older Philips Series1 TiVo that was upgraded when I bought it (to 198 hour capacity - I was told it has 160GB total of hard drives in it, split between two drives I'd guess it's two 80s).

Now I'm starting to see problems with my TiVo, and I have every reason to believe that one (or both) of the drives are starting to fail.

Before that happens, I figured I'd use MFSTools to copy everything (settings/schedules/recorded shows) from the old hard drives to new ones (and I have new drives already).

However, before I even start the process, I was wondering if I can do what I'm proposing: Can I copy everything (including recorded shows) from two hard drives, to two new hard drives?

What made me think (and bear in mind - I've been building computers for years, so I'm not a newbie when it comes to hardware installation), is that most motherboards (mine included) have support for just 4 drives. If we figure that the CD-ROM (so I can boot the MFSTools CD) is one, and a fat32/dos drive (which is required, yes?) is another, that only leaves me two drives more I can put in my computer, when I really need four.

How does this work? Do I need to get another IDE controller card (which luckily I think I may be able to get)?

In addition, is there any way I can (after clearing out a bunch of recorded shows) go from two drives down to one, especially when you consider that the total capacity of the two may be a little larger than the one?