Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Is HD to HD backup possible?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    2

    Wink Is HD to HD backup possible?

    I have a Tivo Series 2 240-80Hour unit. The hard drive is on its last leg causing the picture to freeze and tile sporadically. I have two cases that can turn the IDE drives into external drives. My theory is to connect the old and new drive to my laptop and perform a direct transfer from the old HD to the New one with out using the MFS software. Is this possible?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    6,879

    Default

    Sure - just do a one drive upgrade, and choose the option to save your settings:

    http://tivo.upgrade-instructions.com

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    2

    Default

    The instuctions tells you to down load software and replace the hard drive of the computer with the Tivo hard drive.

    What I am proposing would be more like copy g:\ to h:\.

    Is that doable?

    I want to know before I start pulling out HDs.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    6,879

    Default

    Do:

    -replace with one drive

    -no backup

    -save recordings

    You'll get copy instructions that you're looking for.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1

    Red face What is 'One Drive'?

    I'm new to this forum and have the same question. I, too, have two gizmos
    that would allow me to connect the original TiVo drive (Series II)thru one USB
    port and the new HDD (500 GB) to a second USB port.
    I also have Powerquest Drive Image 2002.
    You refer to "one drive". Is that a software product? Do I need it?
    Can't I just boot from Drive Image's floppy drive software and do a disk-to-disk
    copy from old to new?
    That might not increase the sizes of the partitions created on the new drive
    proportionately... or would it? If not, could I use Powerquest Partition Magic,
    also booted from floppy to avoid writing any extraneous WinXP stuff to either
    drive, and increase the partition sizes that way?

    This is a lot to ask, but I haven't found any other source that addresses the
    ability to copy directly from one drive to another.

    OH... and this too: when accessing the 2 drives thru USB, should they both
    be set as "masters" ... or does it not matter in this configuration??
    Thanks!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    2,828

    Default

    Drive copying software generally doesn't work with TiVos. We'd recommend that you use the instructions and tools that are provided here:

    TiVo Upgrade Instructions

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •