Page 3 of 34 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 338

Thread: TiVo Series3 Rebooting and Restarting

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    2,823

    Default

    Find a dial-in number here:

    http://www3.tivo.com/tivo-misc/popfinder.do

    Then in the dialing prefix of your TiVo, enter

    ,#019,,XXXXXXXX

    Replace the Xs with the number you got from above, and enter it as you would dial it on your phone.

    The comma is the pause button on the remote; # is the enter button.

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pninen View Post
    No. Well, no stuttering or pixellation, but I'm not exactly sure what you mean by freezing, so let me be explicit. The event always goes down like this: First the playback stops. The image on the screen is frozen, and sound ceases. Four seconds go by. Then the TiVo begins a reboot. Each time I've seen this it has been during playback of an SD recording. Have never seen it while watching HD, and have never seen it while on a TiVo menu. Is that what you call a "freeze"?

    This EXACT thing just started happening to me, and the "freezing" is happening more and more every day.

    What did you ever find out about this and the solution? I have a TiVo HD model #TCD652160

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    6,842

    Default

    Top problem there would be a bad drive. Next most likely is a bad CableCARD.

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    2

    Default Is it software or hardware?

    Quote Originally Posted by Homco View Post
    This EXACT thing just started happening to me, and the "freezing" is happening more and more every day.

    What did you ever find out about this and the solution? I have a TiVo HD model #TCD652160
    Same here. Same model, same problem. Just started happening in the past 2 weeks. Can't make it through a show without it freezing up then rebooting. I tried the cable card trick on page one and that didn't work, either. I tried disconnecting the external WD DVR Expander drive and that didn't seem to help, either. And of course the warranty was up in October.

    Before I invest in a new drive, I want to make sure that this isn't a 9.4 software issue, instead of hardware. Neither internal or external drive is showing any signs of failure -- clicking, fan running constantly, skips, etc. Just this freeze and reboot nonsense which seems to have come out of nowhere.

    Is there a kickstart we can try? And how does that work again?

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    6,842

    Default

    It really sounds like a drive. Just be aware that a replacement drive won't see your external drive be default.

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    2

    Default So far, so good, knock on wood.

    Quote Originally Posted by WK-Michael View Post
    It really sounds like a drive. Just be aware that a replacement drive won't see your external drive be default.
    Well, I divorced the expander and RMA'd it with WD. So far, without the DVR expander, I haven't had a single freeze or reboot in almost 24 hours. The expander is covered by warranty so it can't hurt to have it replaced. If the replacement causes the same issue, I'll probably invest in an internal upgrade as I definitely will need the capacity through the holidays.

    Thanks, everyone.

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    6,842

    Default

    Sounds like a good plan - also be sure your eSATA cable is rock solid. We've seen some cheap ones out there that can cause problems.

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    1

    Default New TiVo HD - Restarts randomly

    My TiVo came on Monday 12/8/08 and I started to use it on my basic cable. The box spent some time updating the software and the following day Netflix appeared and then another update later the Video On Demand appeared. I've noticed that the box restarts randomly. I do notice that most of the time it is when I'm streaming Netflix or if it's communicating with TiVo. The box is a 'refurb' box, but I find it hard to believe that a box just out from TiVo has a bad drive already. It seems like there is a software issue, it hangs and is very slow to respond. i.e. press TiVo Central and then the background takes a moment to appear. I'm no expert, but it seems like this new software is buggy and causing the restarts. As I type this the cable company is here installing my CableCard and while they were installing it the TiVo was trying to acquire signal and restarted in the middle of the process and they had to start again. I haven't called TiVo yet, but plan to call them in the coming days if it continues. Anyone noticing similar issues with their boxes restarting when it's doing something via the Ethernet?

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    2,823

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by arnie79 View Post
    My TiVo came on Monday 12/8/08 and I started to use it on my basic cable. The box spent some time updating the software and the following day Netflix appeared and then another update later the Video On Demand appeared. I've noticed that the box restarts randomly. I do notice that most of the time it is when I'm streaming Netflix or if it's communicating with TiVo. The box is a 'refurb' box, but I find it hard to believe that a box just out from TiVo has a bad drive already. It seems like there is a software issue, it hangs and is very slow to respond. i.e. press TiVo Central and then the background takes a moment to appear. I'm no expert, but it seems like this new software is buggy and causing the restarts. As I type this the cable company is here installing my CableCard and while they were installing it the TiVo was trying to acquire signal and restarted in the middle of the process and they had to start again. I haven't called TiVo yet, but plan to call them in the coming days if it continues. Anyone noticing similar issues with their boxes restarting when it's doing something via the Ethernet?
    This is not a common problem and I"d recommend that you give Tivo a call.

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by WK-Jeff View Post
    This is not a common problem and I"d recommend that you give Tivo a call.
    This DOES appear to be a common problem with the version 11 upgrade. It started happening to me last night after almost two years of problem-free viewing, although in my case it seems worse when I'm recording in HD - I haven't set up a Netflix account yet.
    Check out the threads about Netflix and version 11 in this forum, there are hundreds of posts over the last week or two:
    http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...splay.php?f=51

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •