Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Upgrade TiVO drive using MacBook Pro

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    3

    Question Upgrade TiVO drive using MacBook Pro

    I'm stuck. TiVo drive in USB/eSATA adapter isn't recognized by WinMFS running on VMWare Fusion virtual Win7 window on late model MacBook Pro 13. I'm hoping someone here can give me a recipe to complete it on the MacBook. I'm pretty new to Macs but I am comfortable working from the command line, if that helps. I suspect, however, that the solution lies in the hardware. (Please tell me I'm wrong.). I'm thinking only solution might be to rebuild old Windows box now sitting, with no HD or boot disk, in my garage.

    Tim

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    6,809

    Default

    I don't think I've ever seen these tools compiled for Mac. Sorry.
    Find us on Twitter and Facebook

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Thank you. I'm not sure to what "those tools" refers. WinMFS? It's running on a Win7 VM, something that I've seen other Tivo Upgrade sites prescribe. I'm pretty sure you're correct that I can't run it native OSX.

    Anybody else managed to upgrade a TiVO drive (HD) using a Mac?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    6,809

    Default

    Right - there are old Linux tools out there also that could potentially be recompiled for the Mac OS, but I've never seen that, and that's what I was referring to.
    Find us on Twitter and Facebook

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tspofford View Post
    WinMFS running on VMWare Fusion virtual Win7 window on late model MacBook Pro 13.
    Though MFS tools has been Mac-compiled, I don't know how recent a version. I just boot MFSLive on the Mac (hold down "c"). I use a USB adapter for the drives, which are recognized as sdc and sdd.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    3

    Default "Run WinMFS as Admin"

    Doh. I read the subject half a dozen times but it didn't register. As soon as I did as instructed, everything worked as it was suppose to, i.e., WinMFS running in a Win7 virtual machine under VMWare Fusion.

    Before I got to this point, I tried using MFSLive from a CD but the start up failed with a message to copy the JavaMFS drive to an IDE/SATA drive (?), which didn't make much sense: just any old drive? Anyway, doing it didn't help.

    Thanks all for the help.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •