Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 36

Thread: Options for rebooting Roamio

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TishTash View Post
    Well, you just eliminated for me the possibility that Ethernet would work (the only option I hadn't tried). It appears that changing the mode of internet access buys some time, for whatever reason.

    It's odd that you and I seem to have the exact same issue. What capacity of storage do you have?
    I read back in the posts and you have a bigger TiVo than mine which means it is newer than mine. When I bought mine I bought the biggest. Have you had problems with TiVo hard drives before this? From your posts it sounds as if you have or have had other TiVos. I saw where weaknees had a bigger Roamio. I was seriously thinking about getting one, but if hard drives fail within 3 years I'm not sure that is the route I want to go. By the way, I love my Roamio. 6 tuners, and if a show is on one of the 6 tuners I can record it even if it has been on almost an hour. This TiVo was amazing.

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Did you ever find an answer to this problem. I have not. Still same thing. As soon as the TiVo connects to the internet it reboots. Every once in awhile I can get it to stay on long enough to download latest info from TiVo, but it's just a matter of luck. If you found any answer or if you just gave up and sent it in for repair, please let me know. Just don't want to lose my shows. Thanks for any info you can give me.

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Hi...i am a new user here. In my case i ran the SMART test and it passed both drives thru all of the tests that it ran thru the smart test. When my TiVo restarts it shows all of my recorded shows and I can play any of them. But after about 3 minutes it reboots. Please tell me do you have the TiVo with the expanded external drive.

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    6,852

    Default

    Not sure what you mean about an external drive. But we do have upgrades for every model here:

    https://www.weaknees.com/upgrades.php
    Find us on Twitter and Facebook

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Merrick, NY
    Posts
    114

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by WK-Michael View Post
    Not sure what you mean about an external drive. But we do have upgrades for every model here:

    https://www.weaknees.com/upgrades.php
    Michael, I'm afraid to tell you that another, separate TiVo of mine has succumbed to this issue. Once again, the only time it repeatedly reboots (within 3 minutes) is when it's connected to a live internet connection, otherwise it remains on, can record (w/available guide data) and all recorded programs are accessible. The three of us who've had this problem all have external drives. Is there any pattern to this that's helpful to finding some solution? Thanks.

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    6,852

    Default

    Compound problems are definitely hard to diagnose, but virtually every TiVo with an external drive is connected to the internet.

    Are you using Minis with this unit?
    Find us on Twitter and Facebook

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Merrick, NY
    Posts
    114

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by WK-Michael View Post
    Compound problems are definitely hard to diagnose, but virtually every TiVo with an external drive is connected to the internet.

    Are you using Minis with this unit?
    Nope. Just full units around the house. Whatever happens about 3 minutes in -- a VCM connection, an entry into the banner across the top of the screen, some other internet communication -- seems to cause the TiVo to burp away.

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Merrick, NY
    Posts
    114

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by WK-Michael View Post
    Are you using Minis with this unit?
    Here's an interesting twist: The two affected TiVos are Roamio PROs; the unaffected units are all Roamio Plus's. Other than the original internal drive original, are there actually any differences between the two models?

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    6,852

    Default

    Nope. No other differences.

    What is the full system version of the rebooting units?
    Find us on Twitter and Facebook

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Merrick, NY
    Posts
    114

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by WK-Michael View Post
    Nope. No other differences.

    What is the full system version of the rebooting units?
    20.7.2.RC24-USA-6-840, although I just got them to load 20.7.4.RC2-840-6-840.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •