Ran into problem with TiVo Bolt 500GB right after update to 20.7.2

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ran into problem with TiVo Bolt 500GB right after update to 20.7.2

Yes, unfortunately, I got what I call the "Four flashing lights of death" right after the installation of the 20.7.2 update. Since I am an IT professional, I want to try and see if there is any way to recover the recorded content.

TiVo Bolt 500GB
    Seagate 4TB Hard drive in a Rosewill Armer external enclosure

After researching, I see information on the Kickstart Codes that might be able to restore functionality to the HDD. My assumption is that the TiVo software upgrade tried to write to a bad sector that was previously unused, which caused the TiVo not to be able to read a boot file or something similar.

I see where I can run Kickstart 54 to diagnose the drive, 57 to run a deep scan and attempt to fix bad sectors, 58 to also defragment (but I am thinking defragmentation shouldn't be attempted if the drive is having issues) and Kickstart 52.

My question is: What order should I run the Kickstart codes? Also, if I opt to run Kickstart 52 to switch to the other boot partition, will it leave the recorded content and 1 Passes in place, or are they guaranteed to be wiped regardless.

I would start by testing the drive using WD diagnostic tools to give you an idea as to what's wrong with the drive itself. You might also try to clone the 500gb to another 500gb laptop drive and then work on the latter, so as to preserve the former.

Comment

I had the same experience as "ngoering" when my Bolt tried to install the 20.7.2 update this morning. I don't think the hard drive is the problem but I think my eSata to eSata cable may be suspect since this was the problem I had when I did the initial upgrade from the original 500GB to 6TB WD Red drive. I replaced the eSata cable over a year ago but I know this is a sensitive link between the Bolt and the external hard drive.