Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Tivo Bolt Plus with the Flashing Lights of Death

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Posts
    4

    Default Tivo Bolt Plus with the Flashing Lights of Death

    I'm troubleshooting a 1.5 year old Tivo Bolt Plus with a 3 TB HD. At power on, the light stays green for roughly 15 seconds, then the Flashing Lights of Death happen. I bought a new power adapter and that made no difference. I brought it from my in-laws' house to my own and tried it on a different outlet just in case it was something weird with their wiring. Nope. I've opened up the Bolt and see no obvious physical issues inside. I've made sure everything is seated properly, and I've disconnected and reconnected the hard drive. If the hard drive is disconnected, I see exactly the same pattern with the lights at power on. The hard drive is spinning up when connected. I can't use the kickstart codes because the boot never gets that far before the FLOD starts.

    My gut tells me to stick another hard drive in it and see if that fixes the problem, but my father-in-law is going to be beside himself if he loses his recordings. On the other hand, he's going to be beside himself if he doesn't get his TiVo working in the next day or two. Any words of wisdom would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    6,809

    Default

    That really does sound like a bad drive to me.

    Replacement drives for a Bolt Plus are pretty hard to find - I don't really know if anyone has them besides us.

    Ours are here:

    https://www.weaknees.com/bolt.php

    Only the 3 TB will work in a Bolt Plus.
    Find us on Twitter and Facebook

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Thanks, I was afraid it was a drive. I was going to pick up a 2 TB drive locally and try it today, but it sounds like that won't work. It has to be a 3 TB drive? I'm not sure I can justify spending $300 on a replacement drive when I could buy a Tivo Bolt Vox for about $430. I think I'll take some Tylenol before I think about this any more.

    [Edit] How is the Vox? My in-laws might really like being able to give it voice commands.
    Last edited by kscarf1; 05-09-2018 at 08:16 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    6,809

    Default

    I think the Vox is fantastic! I really like the voice access. Got used to it on my AppleTV and I'm hooked.

    Does the Bolt Plus have lifetime service? If not, it might make sense to just get a new one.
    Find us on Twitter and Facebook

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Thanks! I think I'll just order a Vox. The Bolt Plus is out of warranty and doesn't have lifetime service, a service contract, etc. Do you have any use for a 1.5 year old broken Bolt Plus?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    6,809

    Default

    Not really - the valuable part is the hard drive . . .
    Find us on Twitter and Facebook

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Posts
    4

    Default

    I figured. Oh well! I've ordered a Vox and we should be all set. Thanks for your help!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Our Bolt+ suffered from this a few days ago as well. It will show the Tivo logo in-screen briefly just as powering on, then flashy lights. So I'm looking for a replacement drive as well. I tried to buy a vox 3TB today, but apparently are not in stock at hte kinds of places that I can buy any Tivo stuff locally today. Eh...

    Yea... It's a WD Blue, and WD tools show it fails their tests. :/
    Last edited by amigabill; 07-19-2018 at 07:57 PM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    6,809

    Default

    We sell both the drive:

    https://www.weaknees.com/bolt.php

    and the whole unit:

    https://www.weaknees.com/vox
    Find us on Twitter and Facebook

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Hi Michael, I think I have a faulty drive too. In your experience, would you suggest even bothering with getting a new drive or do you think it's better to just get the whole new unit?

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •