Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 20 of 20

Thread: tivo help, not booting.

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Posts
    14

    Default

    just tried a ./mfslayout.sh /dev/hda and no tivo stuff found at all.. but I guess thats normal when theres no partitions there, guess I gotta find a way to make it a brand new tivo hd somehow.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    6,843

    Default

    I'd test the drive fully first. Try the manufacturer's overnight test.
    Find us on Twitter and Facebook

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Posts
    14

    Default

    running an extended WD test now.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Posts
    14

    Default

    well the test came out fine. now I just need a image for a 746320 tivo.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    6,843

    Default

    We can format the drive for you:

    https://www.weaknees.com/misc.php
    Find us on Twitter and Facebook

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Posts
    14

    Default

    okay, uh. this is wierd, if you install a tivo image on the hd, will it show up in linux gparted or something? when I put a tivo image on the drive, gparted says its empty, and tivo still doesnt boot. I can format it in windows and be able to use it in windows. but tivo cant see it, even jmfs bootable cd cant see the drive when a tivo image is written by the dvrbars1007 util.. help! I dont know what to do anymore..

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    6,843

    Default

    Sorry - we use very different tools. I can't help you at all with those.
    Find us on Twitter and Facebook

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Posts
    14

    Default

    so does it sound like a new hd will fix it? or does it sound like I need a new tivo?

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    6,843

    Default

    My guess is that a properly formatted drive with the right TiVo OS on it will fix the unit.
    Find us on Twitter and Facebook

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Posts
    14

    Default

    alright, I'll have to put funds aside to get one, prolly from you. as I miss my tivo.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •