Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Pioneer 810H

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    15

    Default Pioneer 810H

    Just about to do an upgrade for this Tivo model (Pioneer 810H) using a 500gb Seagate DB35 drive, and was just curious if anyone out there has had good luck doing this drive upgrade on this particular model. Any problems encountered, or other pearls of wisdom that can be passed along would be much appreciated. I've read on some posts that there are problems using the MFStools on this particular image.

    Any thoughts?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    6,809

    Default

    We do them all the time with that model, and it works perfectly.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Ok, I went ahead and did the upgrade. I was able to copy over all the existing programs. Everything worked as explained, and the new drive is working. However, it doesn't show that I have any extra hours available. At the end of the backup/restore procedure it told me I had some 500+ hours available, but my Tivo doesn't seem to agree?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    6,809

    Default

    You can pop it back in your TiVo and run:

    Code:
    mfsadd -x /dev/hdX
    and see if you get more. How many does it show for Basic?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Ok, will have to re-borrow the PC I used.
    Currently, it shows 89 hours for basic quality recording.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    15

    Default

    After I did the command that you specified I got this message.
    "Current estimated standalone size: 582 hours"
    "Nothing to Add!"
    I put it back in my Tivo and still it only says that I have 89 hours at basic quality.
    Not sure where to go from here?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    6,809

    Default

    OK - you must have one of the images that needs the Toshiba unlock. Try this:

    Code:
     sd-h400_unlock -w /dev/hdZ

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    15

    Default

    That did it!!! Woohoo - got over 600+ hours now reporting at basic quality.
    Thanks Michael for all your help.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    6,809

    Default

    OK - some Pioneers had that restriction. Glad it's all working!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    2

    Default Pioneer 810h

    I received the new HD for the 810H, but the HD has a new interface/cables, and the instructions do not match. It appears that I have to completely disassemble the unit, to get down to the system board (to remove the old cables. However, the DVD front prevents me from removing the DVD recorder.... help?!?!?!?
    Bruce

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •