Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: new here, need some clarification on swm8

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    4

    Default new here, need some clarification on swm8

    Hi guys,
    As you can see I'm new here and kinda new to all this swm stuff. Can someone clarify something for me. If I have a sl3pig lnb with 4 lines running to the house shouldn't i just need the swm8 switch, power inserter, and a deca adapter to use a single line for my hr24 and hr23 (with deca) to get mrv. If so why does directv want to replace my dish and charge me 260+ dollars to do it? Any info on this would be greatly appreciated. I've looked in other thread but can't find a definite answer.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    6,880

    Default

    Yes - that's right. Then you can run one line from each SWM port to each DVR, and put a DECA adapter on the HR23 and be all set.

    If you also want to get internet access to each machine, you'll need a DECA/router package and a 1x2 SWM splitter.
    Last edited by WK-Michael; 12-04-2010 at 09:00 AM. Reason: fixed typo

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    4

    Default

    If I only care about internet to the hr24 can't i just hook up the Ethernet cable from the router. What is the advantage ofthe deca router package? Also i have a standard box in another room that i don't care if it has mrv, how would that hook up?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    2,829

    Default

    If you only want Internet and not MRV, then you can use an Ethernet cable to the HR24. Ethernet to the HR24 disables MRV functionality.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Thank you for all the info. I'm not trying to be a pain. So you are saying I have to use the deca adapter if I want mrv and on demand? And what does "green label" mean and do i need to worry about it?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    4

    Default

    sorry to keep bombarding you guys with questions but i need all the help i can get. i refuse to pay $270 to have directv install something i can do myself. i just dont want to screw anything up. anyway what is this bridge for, and will the swm switch replace it or do i still need it after i'm done. IMG_20101203_185251.jpg

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    6,880

    Default

    That just looks like a grounding bridge.

    Right - for MRV, you need to either have ethernet to each unit through the same router, or DECA on the SWM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •