Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• R10 Hangs at "Almost there..."

Greetings,

I have a DirecTV R10 unmodified Tivo. As of a few days ago, it no longer boots. It gets to the "Almost there..." stage and then hangs there.

I have some past experience with Tivo modifications, so I pulled the drive and had a look with mfstools, the partitions were there. I happened to have a spare 80gb drive lying around, so I did a backup from the original drive with mfstools and restored it to the "new" drive. This was successful, however upon booting - it still hangs at the "Almost there..." screen.

Next I tried re-imaging the "new" drive with Instantcake. This also appeared to be successful, but the system still hangs at "Almost there....".

Other notes:

The fan was out when I opened it, so this may have led to some heat damage.

A couple of times instead of hanging, it rebooted at the "Almost there..." screen (doubt this matters).

Anyhow - I'm thinking of sending it in to Weaknees for repair, but I want to make sure I'm not missing something that I can still check/fix myself. Any thoughts?

Thanks,

-C

Sounds like it's potentially a motherboard issue. Have you tried disconnecting the SAT cables and pulling out the access card.
    Been here a long time . . .

Comment

Hi,
      Longtime DIRECTV (over 10 years) and WK customer
      Own four TIVO's in different parts of the house (2 upgraded WK drives)
      I have R10 in Master Bedroom w/ WK 500GB drive (2 yrs old)
      It stuck - toggles back and forth between "powering up" and "almost there"
      Called and bought new 750GB from WK and installed - same problem
      Called and bought new power supply from WK and installed - same problem
      Called and bought new R10 from WK - tried both drives and power supplies - same problem
      Tried new and old R10's in living room - same problem
      Even tried to run extension cord to different outlet if it was weak outlet - didn't use power stick - same problem